Some things aren't true until you say them...

12.10.2003 - 7:13 p.m.

I used to have this fantasy about standing in the middle of a field at night and screaming up at the world, the sky, and the universe above it. I figured the universe was about the only thing big enough to hold everything I was holding inside.

I never actually did it. It was just something I used when the brother turned up the music, when the due dates were last week, when the friend was hurting herself and I knew it. Go to the mental place, tilt the head back, and scream.

Today after work, one hour forty-two minutes after I should've left, I plopped myself and a bunch of stuff down into my car, only to realize that my keys were buried somewhere in the pile of stuff, where I couldn't see because it was dark, and I found out that the universe was more space than I needed; I don't know, I guess I held more in back then. Today, all I needed was the inside of my car.

When I was done, I turned the cabin light on, found my keys, and rode home with my windows cracked, letting my scream out and the night air in.

-stonebridge

previous | next