Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.22.2004 - 12:35 p.m.

The boyfriend has been getting sick all week. Simultaneously, he's been having to work later and later, which bothers me, because it's a pretty time-consumptive job to begin with. I miss having him around, and I miss having a well-rested him around even more.

(No, I am not being the possessive bitch girlfriend who doesn't want him to have a life outside his interactions with me. I would consider being the possessive bitch girlfriend who forces him to have a life outside his job, but then it took him a long time to find this one, and I think (?) he's happier this way, so yeah, none of that.)

Anyway, so yesterday I decided to be the Best Girlfriend in the World by packing him a lunch with one of those notes in it about hoping he had a good day and i-love-you and all. I got a lot of it ready the night before: pretzels, grapes, carrot sticks, two cans of Coke because the man drinks constantly, three Hershey's kisses. But I had to make the sandwich in the morning, when he was in the bathroom or getting dressed, because nobody wants to eat bread that's soaked up all the mayonnaise overnight.

I should have known my plan was foiled when he didn't bring his work clothes over. He hardly took any time at all to dress in the morning, and he caught me at 7:03, just pulling out the bread.

"What are you doing?" he asked.

"Making you lunch," I answered. I'd've batted my eyes if I'd been awake enough to think of it.

"Nonono, c'mon, you can't make me lunch, I don't need lunch," he protested, grabbing my wrists to pull me away from the counter.

I couldn't really argue because he was serious about making me stop, and he is bigger than me even when I am awake. I told him I'd already made most of it, but he just wasn't going to let me do it. So I hugged him goodbye and told him all the stuff I would've written in the note, and sent him off without it.

Which is why I had a real lunch to eat today, and on second thought, it's a pretty good thing that he wouldn't take it. The carrots, for instance, were way older than they looked, and the grapes were getting a little peaked, too.

I guess the Best Girlfriend in the World is someone else this week.

-stonebridge

previous | next