Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.17.2004 - 2:21 p.m.

I have now spent the majority of the last three (four?) workdays arguing with computers. I would say �fixing computers� except that it�s gotten worse each day.

I can get the mouse to work but not the cursor. I can get the laptop to run tests on itself but not while the display is working. I can replace the operating system but that only buys me a few minutes of non-kludge behavior per startup. I can log in but I can�t open programs. I can get the desktop to install an upgrade but the upgrade makes the original program stop working, I have talked to people in three separate support departments and oh my god do I ever want to KILL SOMETHING.

Which reminds me, dealing with computers is a lot like working in daycare. You spend all day teaching and disciplining the same thing over and over and over again, and just when the kid figures it out, the idiot parent gets back from work, and the parent�s first words to the kid completely unravel any progress you may have made, so that your every morning is filled with the same little monsters as always.

I got out of daycare years ago, for reasons that I hope are obvious; and I swear this kind of technology renovation is so not in my job description.

I tell you, every time I turn around, the computers are laughing at me.

-stonebridge

previous | next