Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.10.2004 - 5:38 p.m.

I seem to remember that finding a college was easier. First of all, there were all sorts of people sending me brochures and answering questions I hadn't even thought of yet. There was a very specific time in which to make my choice. I leafed through some booklets, took a road trip or two, checked the finances, and went to the least expensive campus I could see myself enjoying. It was kind of nice, not having a clue what I wanted to do with yourself once real life hit. I could figure it all out later.

And now it's later. I do in fact know what I want to do, what I want to learn next, and where I want it to leave me once I know it. And, ironically, this is a problem. Because I go online to find this thing, this perfect program, and I have no idea where to even start. I find a couple of places that seem to be talking about the right stuff, only to find that one is a Masters, one a Ph.D, one a certification program. What is the difference between these things? Which is the one I will someday wish I had? Which should I relocate for, or are the online classes good enough?

Higher education is crap.

-stonebridge

previous | next