Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.25.2004 - 10:07 a.m.

I went up north to play paintball on Saturday, my first time at a real paintball field. It was also my first time playing with such a large group--seven of us including two of my brothers.

The two hour drive and seventeen-dollar entrance fee? Totally worth it. Playing in mud, having access only to the scariest portajohns I've ever seen, and two days later, still unable to find a muscle group that doesn't ache? Still worth it.

Running pell-mell at a bunker of logs because I WILL get there first and I WILL NOT get shot on the way? The only thing I'd change. Next time, I need to give myself a braking distance better calibrated to the slippery conditions.

A note for purposes of scale: that's my right thigh. It's not usually quite that shape, although it is better today than it was yesterday.

Like momma always said, you're not living right unless it hurts some.

-stonebridge

previous | next