Some things aren't true until you say them...

09.29.2005 - 10:01 a.m.

I did not plan to come to work today. I don't feel good. Yesterday it was one of those headaches that reaches down through your spinal cord to make your stomach unhappy too, and today it is a quieter yet still highly unpleasant throbbing behind my eyeballs. I was going to call in sick. I was. The only reason I woke up at all today is that my cat horked on me.

Cat hork is warm and slimy and oozes downhill over your skin. It is not something you can ignore by rolling over and burying your head under the pillow. So I showered, and really once you shower, you might as well go to work.

Today is a grey-sky day, and the trees are only still green if you don't look too closely. Sitting in the parking lot, trying to convince myself to get out of the car, the wind changed from a breeze to a quick gust that drummed over the car-top and pulled along several dried leaves in its wake, bouncing and skimming over the pavement. I hadn't noticed the piles gathering along the curb.

I do not want it to be fall yet. There is so much of summer I haven't been able to finish.

I wanna go home.

-stonebridge

previous | next