Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.21.2005 - 1:37 p.m.

I never wanted a cellphone to begin with. I bought it after I'd missed a few social gatherings in other cities, because everyone else had cellphones and thus felt that planning ahead for things like times and meeting places was too much trouble. I use it now instead of a landline (because it's stupid to have both) but still am not sure why I have one.

Last weekend I accidentally left it at my parents' house, so I've been without for five days now. I do sort of miss knowing peoples' phone numbers, but then if I'd never bought one, I would still have a phone book. I know my fiance misses it, because he still wants to call every day when he leaves work to find out what's for dinner. I know my roommate misses it even more, because my fiance has been calling him every day in order to ask me what's up with dinner. And there are probably several messages on the thing from people who are annoyed that I've gone incommunicado.

But I have never had a problem being incommunicado. It has honestly been a very relaxing week. I am a luddite.

Anyway, I also left my boots, which I actually do want, so my mom and I have arranged a meeting on Sunday. I'll get my cellphone back then, although I will still have to charge it.

Patience, ye technophiles who may actually want to talk to me, patience.

-stonebridge

previous | next