Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.28.2005 - 3:28 p.m.

One of my occasional duties at this job is to read and score writing placement tests. If you are ever in the position to take one, I can tell you that clear, focused essays do well. It helps to use your best handwriting, and to copy things over rather than to insert illegible chicken scratch (although any attempt to edit generally reflects well on you). It helps to vary the length and structure of your sentences and to avoid punctuation marks you don�t know how to use. Essays with actual introductions, theses, and snappy conclusions are rare, and are exclaimed upon in the readers� room with awe. Write one, and you will place in the highest class the readers are allowed to put you in.

So many people think that sophisticated writing consists of sprinkling fifty-cent words wherever they can fit, and to some degree, demonstrating a good vocabulary is important. However, imaginary words such as proudness, robotical, discernful, and dominative do not help.

I hope this was my last test to read for the semester. I really do. It is making me want to give up on public education.

-stonebridge

previous | next