Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.02.2005 - 9:50 a.m.

My guy goes to work at 6:10 in the morning. From about 6:30 to eight-something, I sleep with my cat.

I wasn't very tired this morning. Sometimes I'm not. Things weigh on me, or a dream is too real, and I end up just laying there, watching the shades lighten, petting my cat into a quivering puddle of purr.

Sometimes I spend too much time trying to accomplish things, and I forget how it feels to enjoy the love of an animal. My cat does not care if I am a perfect person, or whether I am going to lose my chance at grad school this year because I forgot whether I'd taken GREs in the spring of '01 or the fall of '00. She doesn't care what I have in the bank or whether it is "enough" or what my current definition of "enough" is. She just hops up, gives a deep sigh as she settles in, and purrs.

Today, I just petted her, until I was late for work.

-stonebridge

Words: 2246 of 50000
applications: 0 of 4

previous | next