Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.11.2005 - 4:31 p.m.

On my way home yesterday, around two in the afternoon, I was driving down a two-land road. An SUV coming the other way had just topped the hill in front of me when a doe popped out of the woods in front of it. I don't think it had a chance at that distance. The SUV clipped her back end, sending her spinning across the pavement and into the grass on my side of the road.

I thought for a moment that maybe she was just thrown, but she had started struggling by the time I passed her. At least one of her hind legs was shattered. The SUV didn't even stop.

I didn't stop either; I had left my cellphone at home that day (Who do you call anyway?) and I didn't have anything with me that could put her out of her misery.

I came back later, armed with my phone and the animal control number, but I couldn't find her. Periodically today, I still see her spinning across my lane with the terrible grace of inertia, or dragging herself towards the treeline with her front legs.

Also yesterday I was stood up by my writing buddy, but that was just icing on the cake.

-stonebridge

previous | next