Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.09.2005 - 4:16 p.m.

Found out today that if I stay one more year, I can get a raise (probably).

Reasons why waiting one more year before grad school proper makes perfect sense:

1) I could concentrate on getting married this year instead of splitting my efforts,
2) I could get a much better GRE score,
3) I could spend more time on entrance essays,
4) It would make finding an intern to replace me while I'm gone much easier,
5) When my boss changes next year, I would be able to help him move in without screwing things up,
6) I would have time to find out whether I'll get a real staff position to replace my contractual one--thus simplifying the choice of my grad school program, since I would know whether money was an object,
7) I could concentrate on Nanowrimo this month with a clear conscience,
8) I could have enough commuter credit by the time I got in to finish my Master's in a year,
9) I am still scared of grad school and don't quite want to go.

Reasons why waiting is stupid:

1) Barring job-search serendipity, the fiance is already making about as much as he'll make for a long time, possibly ever. Thus, I need to increase my earning potential ASAP,
2) I don't want to be married and living in someone else's house,
3) It feels like a huge and pathetic cop-out, and the fiance would agree.

I know it looks like a pretty obvious choice, three to one, but from where I'm sitting, the columns weigh about the same.

Further updates as events warrant.

-stonebridge

words written: 8416 of 50000
applications finished: 0 of 4

previous | next