Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.29.2006 - 10:08 a.m.

I'm teaching a class for the first time this semester. Early, too--earlier than I'd voluntarily wake up, normally. I was shaking when I went in to the room this morning. I think they liked me, at least--which is all you can really hope for on the first day--but I don't think I explained things enough. I'm off-balance, trying to gauge the understanding of a whole group instead of an individual. I'm tempted to break the whole thing into tutorials, and screw the lecturing.

I still remember being a student on the first day--I remember instantly classifying classes as interesting or boring, worth my trouble or not. I don't know what made me mke those decisions. I'm guessing that the professors I liked were the ones who treated us as adults, who were straight shooters, and who were clear in their expectations. I felt like I did these things, until a student came up to me afterwards and asked me a question that I'd thought had been immediately and absolutely explained.

Now I'm nervous about Thursday. I would really, really hate to fail.

-stonebridge

previous | next