Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.18.2006 - 11:06 a.m.

What do you want to do for your bachelorette party, she asks.

What are bachelorette parties supposed to be like? Dinner? Dancing? Strippers in a hotel room? I've never been to a real one; the one I have been to was dinner and the opening showing of "Finding Nemo." I feel like alcohol is supposed to be involved...dunno.

I sort of want to kiss strangers. Does that make me a bad person? I'd like to think not, if for no other reason than that I won't be admitting to it. I'm not sure it's a real want, anyway. Just a flirtation with the idea of having a last "what if."

I've never even really done girly nights. Girly nights with one person, certainly. But last time I hung out with a group of girls...no idea when that was. This is like understanding make-up; there must have been a class that other girls took when they were fifteen that I missed. Or maybe real girls learn this by osmosis, or know these things at birth.

On reflection...in my twelve years of dating, I have accumulated enough "what ifs." I don't need to kiss any more.

previous | next