Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.29.2007 - 2:53 a.m.

My cat is dreaming on my leg, the limp ends of her paws twitching rhythmically in the air. Her long, warm weight over my ankles--and how long she has been there--is the reason I really, seriously need to pee.

But I'm doing okay. My stomach is a bit unsettled from the caffeine and my eyes are starting to tire, but I'm really doing well for 3 am. The full night's sleep last night was a good idea. When I finish this pile of papers, I'll reward myself with breakfast and a shower. Then, there will only be the grade math, a bit of planning, and the printing to do before noon tomorrow.

I can do that. Today was one of those days when I surprised myself laughing, only then realizing how long it had been. Or at least, how long it had been outside the holiday. I really need to fix that.

One way: creative margin notes. Last year's best was "Holy unending paragraph, Batman!" This year, I managed to work in "You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."

Three am has always brought out the best in me.

-stonebridge

P.S. If you read this, and it is still tonight, please message me. =)

previous | next