Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.30.2007 - 11:15 a.m.

Husband was out last night and I was tired, so I blew off my raid night in WoW and made soup for myself. Nearly from scratch. Based on mushrooms, because I love them and he doesn't.

I was tired, working on 36 hours of not having slept, low on blood sugar but lingeringly high on caffeine and the adrenaline--or whatever hormone it is--that a body calls on in such survival situations. I'd meant to go to bed, do not pass go, do not collect $200. I just couldn't.

I even went out to the store to buy milk when I saw I didn't have enough for the broth. Normal-me would have given up, but I was manic-overtired in a way I haven't been in a long time. I spilled a lot, and at one point even toppled a container of paprika out of my cabinet into the actual pot, splattering everything everywhere. I did catch the tarragon, though, which was glass.

It is the simplest of things, creamy soup filled with Forbidden Fungus, but I was just so excited to finally do something for myself that I let nothing stop me. I even bought kettle chips, which are so against the diet it isn't even funny, but oh, how I love them.

One of my favorite smells is the one you can't wash out of your hands the day after you cut up an onion.

-stonebridge

previous | next