Some things aren't true until you say them...

12.12.2008 - 4:46 p.m.

So last weekend, we had a Write-a-thon which, the way we do it, is twelve hours of tutors in the Writing Center, with sodas and pizza and assorted other study-munch-food. Because it's winter, I made wassail for them, too. In general, we get eaten down to some cookies, some pretzels, one bagel, and an assortment of candy that the tutors are happy to finish off as they serve their last few shifts over finals week.

Well, this semester, we had record attendance, which meant the food was completely gone three hours before the event ended.

In terms of our success as student service, the mob was a good thing. But it meant that for the first few days of this week, sad-faced, sleep-deprived tutors kept poking their heads into my office, asking if maybe there was the rest of a bag of Hershey's miniatures? Had any soda survived? Chips, maybe? And I kept having to say I was sorry, but no.

So... I bought a bag of Oreos. Because Oreos (particularly the Double Stuf version, but any Oreos will do) are the Best Finals Pigout Food Ever, as awarded by me. Normally, I don't allow Oreos anywhere near me, lest I eat way too many of them. But this was different; I did it for the tutors.

The pint of milk I grabbed with them, well. That was for me. And now they are somewhat depleted. Whoops.

-stonebridge

previous | next