Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.05.2002 - 3:26 p.m.

�Today is one of those days when I wish I knew a little more about people,� said the girl who spends all of her time studying herself and other people.

Seriously, it occurs to me that since a certain friend of mine has started linking me, my pages have moved from the rural backwater of the web to somewhere more citified (read: people who don�t know me have actually started visiting them) and it occurs to me that I should address that�

These pages always have been and will remain a place for me to write. Not to write for, write to, or write about, just to write. I�ve tried not to think about audience when I write here, except for the general consideration of writing something worth reading, But it occurs to me that I like having an audience, that I even need one to keep up my motivation and writing-esteem, and that it�s maybe not quite fair to keep so much of my life out of your sight. Not that I�ll be changing the stuff I write; I imagine it will stay much the same- a collection of oddments sprinkled with thoughts about singlehood and why I�m tired of it.

So here are some things you might not know about me, starting with the easy stuff:

My name is Sarah.

I am a girl.

I am 23.

I am 1/4 Swedish, 1/4 Lithuanian, 1/4 German, and 1/4 European Mutt.

I live with my cat, my roommate, and on weekends, also her guy.

I have three younger brothers. I miss living with them and my parents, though I don�t think I�ll ever go back.

I�ve been single for one year and six months.

The trunk of my car contains motor oil, a change of clothes, two Frisbees, a sleeping bag, and a tent. The tent has never been used.

I need new contacts.

There are only three people I have ever hated, one of whom I have also loved, and one of whom I have also been.

I don�t often talk about people in specific- they might not like it, and in a lot of ways it�s more interesting to examine the generalities and patterns anyway. Mostly I talk about �a friend,� because the friend isn�t generally the point of the post. But there are some people who do cameos here:

Kelly, the roommate- She is wonderful, when I can get her to stop talking between commercials.

Jim, the roommate�s guy- has a love/hate relationship with our cat. He is mostly wonderful too.

The ex (or D)- sigh. Just, sigh.

The friends next door: F, J, and E. They�re not really next door. But it�s easier to say �next door� than �in the development the next block over.� F got me into this diary thing, J got me into writing for email lists. They have a hot tub. And as far as I know, these three are the only ones who know I write here. F hides their names on his diary, so I will too.

Matt- We have one of those flirty/beat on each other type relationships. He�s one of my oldest, truest friends. I tend to use him in here as a jumping-off point to get into whining about wanting guys, but it�s not as personally directed as it may occasionally appear. He�s got a girl right now anyway ; )

Beth- Another old friend. I don�t see her very often anymore, but we can always pick up right where we left off. I think she�s stronger than I am.

-stonebridge

previous | next