Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.20.2001 - 3:39 a.m.

Today was my last day working at the registrar's office. I've been moving files for the last few days- there are two big huge cabinets, one for active files and one for former students. I've been purging all the graduates and dropouts from the one and filing them in the other, so that the new freshmen and transfers can fit in the first. My fingers are all dry and scraped and touched with the red sharpie I was using to mark the old folders.

I dawdled, because it was my last job and I wasn't going to finish anyway. I got through the Smiths. Someone else will do T through Z tomorrow.

I filed away all my friends.

I'm going home today. It's interesting to note that while I never, ever got the least bit homesick during college, I miss my family now. You'd think I'd have gotten used to being two hours away. Two hours isn't even that much. But anyway, I'm seeing them all this week, even my oldest bro, who's flying in from Michigan tomorrow.

Happy thanksgiving everyone.

-stonebridge

previous | next