Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.09.2002 - 4:54 p.m.

Yesterday I was working in the computer lab near Boss's office. Whenever anybody new entered the lab, Chris, the lab administrator, would ask them if they'd seen the video for the new iMac, and no matter what they answered, he would project it onto the screen at the end of the room. ("Look! it dances! It burns DVDs! isn't that the coolest thing ever?") (Most often, Chris's draftee audiences were more amused with Chris than with the dancing computer, but I'll admit to you, dear readers, that it was indeed one of the cooler things ever) Then he'd skip up to the part where Seal is talking about it ("Isn't it gorgeous. I want one. I'm not leaving without one."). And then he'd give everyone in the room a ridiculous yet charming grin.

The lab assistants were all working on setting up a new set of ibooks, building a cart for them, doing I'm not sure exactly what, because none of them were turned on yet, but very busy about it. A bit after 1:00 I hear that noise Macs make when they start up... Hummmm... I turn around to see Chris standing by the first of the ibooks. I can think of no word that describes him more accurately than "giddy." He aims this ridiculous grin at me as he walks down the row. Hummmm...HummmmHummmHummHumHumHumHumHummmm...

He didn't speak until the last echoes had faded. "I love that sound. That sound is, without question, the most beautiful sound I've ever heard."

What I like so much about dorks is that they are so enthusiastic, in a way I never quite let myself be. I should be more in touch with my inner dork.

An iMac would help.

-stonebridge

previous | next