Some things aren't true until you say them...

08.19.2002 - 9:20 a.m.

Finally finished moving. (Unpacking, not so much, but definitely done moving.)

There were a couple of glitches, for instance, the hummingbird feeder belongs to Kelly but ended up in my stuff; the new, jumbo roll of packing tape is mine, but I no longer have it. In general, though, I think everything that needed to leave the apartment got out and routed to the appropriate destination�It turns out that Kelly had about three times as much stuff as me, but that does make a certain amount of sense. She was making a home, I was mostly just sleeping in it.

Moving (and the cleanup afterwards) was an informative process:

Discovered Kelly�s missing field hockey sticks, in the linen closet behind the two rolls of wrapping paper. (Insert procrastinative swordplay here)

Discovered that the iron and ironing board I never used actually belong to me. No personal memory of any such acquisition but, um, okay.

Discovered that a balcony can expediate dumpster trips.

Discovered that my eyes are bigger than my skill at carrying large, awkward boxes with weak bottoms.

Discovered Hazel�s emergency stash of cat food (under the stove).

Discovered Hazel�s emergency emergency stash (behind the dryer).

Discovered that scrubbing the inside of an oven is officially my least favorite chore in the whole entire world.

Discovered that the proper time to pack toilet paper is much later in the moving process than we thought.

Discovered that Kelly is a grumpy mover.

Discovered that curtain rod mounts, upon removal, are not very kind to paint or plaster.

Discovered that white toothpaste, once dry, looks remarkably like painted plaster.

Discovered that packing, moving, and cleaning each take four times as long as you�d think.

Discovered that I never want to move again. Will most likely last about a year before it becomes necessary anyway.

-stonebridge

Oh. Also discovered that there are ants in the new place, too. I take it back, by the way. Ants aren�t fascinating. They are evil. Six legs is too many.

previous | next