Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.10.2002 - 4:09 p.m.

Q: Is what you wish for in front of burning B-day cake candles different than your falling star wishes?

A: I tend to forget to wish on either�the candles because I am being watched by too many people to think of much past whether I can blow them all out, and the stars because I am usually too busy watching them. If I wish at all on either, it is usually something general like �I hope things are good this year,� or �make people happy.�

Q: Is our fondness of road trips based up on our desire not to be here, or to be there or the processes of it all?

A: My fondness of roadtrips is based on my enjoyment of singing in the car, but also on my thinking of roads as a place that isn�t anywhere, a place where you get to be whoever you are, with no contextual pressure. I over-romanticize this, I know, but I'm not sorry.

Q: What�s the worst smell you�ve smelled?

A: One summer my mother decided to redo the wallpaper in the hall bathroom. I was in charge of bleaching off the glue from the old paper. I made the solution too strong by several orders of magnitude, and to this day the smell of bleach makes me sick. Sometimes even a strong whiff of pool can set me off. (There will be no remarks about the number of brain cells I may or may not have exterminated.)

Q: Why is it so hard to stop loving someone. / Is it possible to stop loving someone. / Do you even play a role in that decision?

A: I find that when you�ve stopped loving someone, your brain kind of decides you must never have loved the person to begin with. I think this is probably a self-defense mechanism, and that it really is possible to really love someone, then stop. I�ve seen people do it before. But it does seem to be an instinctual process, rather than a voluntary one.

Q: Why are questions and surveys so fun to answer?

A: I think there are several reasons. One: if someone asks you a question, then you only have to think of the answer instead of an entire topic of conversation. Two: they give you a chance to show how deep and thoughtful and witty you are, and people who are deep and thoughtful and witty get laid. Three: personally, I am usually just curious to see what I think.

(It's been less than inspiring here today, so I stole some ideas from elsewhere. Most of the questions are from here, a subsidary of him, and there is a cool place you can answer back, too.)

So that is my plug of the month. Have a good weeked, everybody!

-stonebridge

previous | next