Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.15.2002 - 1:18 a.m.

I have a filthy room, lots of bills to pay, I am behind at work, and behind on some writing projects I assigned myself last week. And a hopelessly lengthy to-do list leftover from last month. I am overwhelmed. I need to stop trying to be so efficient.

(efficient adj. 1. Exhibiting a high ratio of input to output. 2.a. Acting or producing effectively with a minimum of waste, expense, or unnecessary effort. 2.b. Procrastinating, as in: "I won't pay this bill until the other two come in, so that I can pay all of them at once. Nor will I clean my room right now, because I make mess at a constant rate, so I should do it later when it is finally unliveable. That way my cleaning effort can be really efficient.")

Readers, do observe that definition 2.b. is almost directly contradictory to definition 1.

-stonebridge

previous | next