Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.16.2003 - 11:43 a.m.

Saw Phillipe this morning at the ATM. Phillipe is a visiting professor for French here; I think he has a year left on his contract, or something like that. I spent an hour a week last fall helping him make himself a website, so we always wave and say hi when we cross paths. Sometimes he�ll poke his head into my office, and I�ll be able to smell the nicotine for hours afterward, but for some reason it�s not a bad smell�I guess because I�ve never actually seen him smoke, so the effect isn�t so much a noxious cloud as a lingering impression. Like a cologne.

People say he hits on all his students. There is something just basically adorable and sexy about him; he�s short and blue-eyed and boyish, and he has this way of rolling your name around his accent. So I can see where they get that, but I don�t see it in him. I think he is just being French, being himself. I don�t think it�s something he�s really aware of doing.

I really should have studied people instead of books. I can just never get enough of wondering about the different ways people see themselves and each other, and how all of that interacts to make a social dynamic...

I didn�t get too much writing done last night. I went through all my old hardcopy stuff and typed some of it up for posterity. Almost finished a poem that�s had me stuck for a long while, pushed some ideas around on different backgrounds. I want to write something really long, really intricate; I want to stop knowing it�s impossible and just start doing it. And the first step of doing it is finding a big enough idea.

Then I played Civ III. It�s a pretty good sign that you�re up too late when the civilization you started running in the Bronze Age gets to the Renaissance.

So tired.

-stonebridge

previous | next