Some things aren't true until you say them...

01.21.2003 - 9:57 a.m.

I�d waited fifteen minutes after the roommate showered before starting mine. It would make me late, but as there are very few sensations worse than general, pervasive clamminess, I�d decided it was probably worth it.

My favorite part of taking showers is shaving. I finished under my arms and most of one leg using slow, smooth strokes--smooth because it was a new blade and because it felt good, and slow because it was early, and I was thinking about something else.

I was just starting rinse off the lather when it became clear that I was going to have to pick up the pace. In between my turns to ratchet up the hot water, I finished the other leg with progressively shorter, quicker strokes. I nicked myself behind my knee, but that was only to be expected since each turn to adjust the temperature let the water through to wash the soap off, and new blades need lots of lubrication.

The marker on the knob flush with the little red dot, I gave my hair one last, quick rinse, then twirled the knob all the way past the blue dot to the �off� position.

Ha. Today is the first day of classes, so you can imagine how much pain and suffering was averted because I beat the water heater. Because this way, I won�t have to be grouchy and evil. I mean, I would have felt bad, and all, but I am really not responsible for mood maintenance in the face of pervasive clamminess.

So anyway. Cleaner, and certainly moving a good bit quicker than normal, I was off to face my day.

But not before making a suitable resolution to go back to showering at night.

-stonebridge

previous | next