Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.17.2003 - 11:47 a.m.

I was paying bills today. Somehow I never remember to pay them until I am right on that line between �timely� and �late.� Anyway, when I got to my energy bill, it looked something like this:

Standard Offer Service...........(charge)
Customer Charge...................(another charge)
Buncha other charges, of which my favorite was �Demand Side Management Surcharge�
............................................(more charging)

Balance.................................(57.78)
Less Payments......................(183.73)
Outstanding Balance.............(125.00 CREDIT)

This is where I went, huh? What check did I write in my sleep, and why couldn�t I think of anything better to spend it on?

The devil on my left said, �Great! Time to go shopping!�

The angel on my right answered, �Tsk tsk, must be moral,�

So I turned to the right and said, �Shh,� then to the left and said, �Ooh, we could buy that paintball gun!�

But by the time I started licking stamps for the other, non-screwy bills, the angel had the devil on her knees in a headlock. I wasn�t that surprised. The devil in me has always talked a better fight than she delivers, in most areas, while the angel�s got a black belt in some martial art I can never pronounce. I was sure disappointed, though.

The angel made me call the company to report it. The $125 I�d love to spend on arms and munitions was apparently a payment made to the office on September 8. It was cash, so it�s completely untraceable, and nobody�s made a complaint about that particular amount of missing money.

Basically, what this means is that I am sitting here waiting for a callback from the woman who is �looking in to it� so she can tell me how much I should really send on my check, when I could have left the money to cover the next two months� worth of heat and power with no one the wiser. Well, nobody but the victims of my paintball gun.

Do I feel like a good citizen, like I�ve done the right thing? Well, yes. And I do realize that virtue is its own reward. But I�m enrolling my devil at the gym.

-stonebridge

previous | next