Some things aren't true until you say them...

02.11.2004 - 3:58 p.m.

So I went dancing on Saturday, and it was at about one in the morning, in a corner of the upstairs dance hall, my hands in the air and sweaty bits of shirt fluff flourescing up and down my arms that I admitted to myself that I may not in fact despise Outkast's "Hey Yah."

Today, now that it's been playing in my head all day, I'm considering a return to my previous opinion.

Today's been pretty monotonous, which I suppose may also be part of the problem. Not boring, mind you, just monotonous. Too many necessary things I kept having to convince myself to work on. I mean, I keep a to-do list on a notebook of graph paper. (The squares keep my writing, and thus the overall length, much smaller.) I usually get through something between half and a third of the stuff on it, all the while adding on the new things that come up. The last thing I do each day is copy it onto a clean piece of paper, minus all the cross-outs.

The drawback of this plan is that on any given day, I gravitate to those tasks that are either 1) quickly accomplished, leading to a quick cross-out, or 2) easily worked on, leading to a smaller expenditure of brain cells. Why is this a drawback, you might ask?

To illustrate, think of a game of scrabble. Let's say it's your first turn, and you've drawn

T O I C P H N.

So you put down "thin," and draw four. Now you have

O C P R L A I.

So you use the I in "thin" to spell "lair," leaving you with

O C P I X Q Z.

What the hell kind of words do you spell with O C P I X Q Z?

And that, oh my readers, was my day at work: Plenty of points, but not so many options.

-stonebridge

previous | next