Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.16.2004 - 5:59 p.m.

***Second for the day, btw.***

Yesterday afternoon I noticed a June bug flying/crawling into my office, which I ignored.

This morning I turned the lights on, set up the laptop, and noticed that the random stuff jar (a clay mug containing bits of paper from a workshop exercise, a screw and wire from some painting that used to hang somewhere, and a sandwich bag with three really old malt balls in it) was buzzing. I looked in there, and of course it's the June bug--not flying, just walking around in a perpetual circle at the bottom of the mug. The buzzing was from his legs brushing up against the baggie. I figured if that was how he wanted to spend his day, he was welcome. I ignored him all day.

Not three minutes ago he remembered--if such a small imitation of brain function can indeed be called memory--he remembered he had wings. So he flew around the desk, past the wide-open door, and back around to whack himself on the bulletin board before falling to bounce off the printer and end up on the floor beneath the desk.

Now one of the empty software boxes is scritching. It amazes me that something so dumb can even live.

-stonebridge

previous | next