Some things aren't true until you say them...

06.16.2004 - 1:22 p.m.

Hi, so lots going on in the last day or so:

First of all, it is completely untrue that you can't read anything while dreaming. I was in this wierdo classroom where we were all taking this absurd test/spelling bee in order to win a free cruise (I know, standard dream nonsense so far) but I could so read and write. I was spelling "effervescent," and some other words I don't remember. And later I got to see the score sheet, and I saw my name and all the points I'd won, so it's not just letters you can read, but numbers, too.

Well, sure there were moments where they were rearranging themselves on the page as I read, but still, I could do it. So scratch that myth.

Two, my shoulder is killing me. I slept on it wrong, or possibly injured it while paintballing on Sunday, but good lord does it hurt to do anything that involves holding it up while reaching forward, like opening doors, driving, dressing, or sleeping on my right side. So yeah, not a good night of sleep.

Three, I am a dork. I am sitting here yesterday afternoon having an absolute emotional crisis over something the boyfriend did that reminded me of the ex, an all-day mental blowout, and it's not until the roommate asks me to try listing these obviously innumerable problems that I go, "Well there's [censored thing], and [also censored]...and, um...everything else is good. Ohhh."

Hah, to this day, you ask me what was good about the ex, and that's about the length of it. So I am an idiotic worry girl, but all better for now. And he dressed up and took me out for Mexican, which was also nice.

Finally, I was driving home yesterday and saw this guy on a riding mower, slaloming very slowly through some baby hedge bushes. At least I assume they'll be a hedge. Right now it looks a little like cloves stuck in a ham, little round things sticking up at regular checkered intervals. It was pretty funny watching how careful he was being to get all the grass between each one, even getting off to check that as he turned, this huge riding mower would still miss the next one. Hello, edge trimmer? Cute little hand mower, maybe even with automatic drive? Less effort going once, twice?

Although maybe it was one of those things where you had to be there. And someday I'll have my own yard--maybe then it won't even seem funny to me.

-stonebridge

previous | next