Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.12.2004 - 1:13 p.m.

I've written four poems in the six hours I've been awake today. That has got to be some kind of record.

I've (somewhat theoretically) been writing a poem a day for all of November. A poet's answer to National Novel Writing Month. (nanowrimo.com, or .org, It's a friday in a long week, if you don't know what I'm talking about, you can damn well look it up yourself.)

Anyway, it's interesting to look back at a list of sequential poems and see how they track the ups and downs of two weeks, how I've already forgotten what it was like to be myself on November the third, but I have a poem anyway to remind me. How some nights rated three poems, other days nothing. Sort of like how some memories expand to cover whole years of life--(What does it mean to me to be seven? He-man, a fight with my Best Friends Forever necklace partner, one of those transparent pencils that that had the interchangeable colored tips you loaded from the back) It is just odd to note that it happens on the small scale too.

That, or I have just been working too hard. I think I'm up to fifty hours already, and there are still four to go.

Of course, I did spend several of them writing poems.

-stonebridge

previous | next