Some things aren't true until you say them...

11.18.2004 - 3:35 p.m.

I am going to be a hypochondriac when I am old.

I say this because I've just convinced myself that I have tetanus.

I cut myself a few days ago, while I was camping, and didn't think a bit about whether my vaccinations were up to date until mom emailed me today.

She is so good at making me paranoid.

So I start to wonder whether I could be getting tetanus, and pull up a webpage to find out about it. I should never do this. I know. Last time it was lyme disease, the time before that it was some horrible bowel infection I don't even know how to spell anymore. Each time I feel fine until I start reading the signs to look for.

Tightness in the jaw...hmm, suddenly stiff. Sore neck, although I've been bent over a computer all day. Quickened heartbeat, check, also shakey and clumsy and sweating. Oh no, I have tetanus!

(Sound like a panic attack, anyone?)

So I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow at lunch to renew my vaccination, and so they can look at the finger I cut, notice it doesn't look infected, and tell me I'm Chicken Little.

I know, some of you are calling me a hypochondriac now, but here is the crucial bit I reassure myself of: real hypochondriacs take themselves seriously. I do not. Not one bit.

-stonebridge

previous | next