Some things aren't true until you say them...

10.03.2007 - 11:18 a.m.

So. Ten-year high school reunion, this November. Preliminary invite in my email, because my mother still works at the school, so they knew how to find me.

Questions at the forefront of my mind:

1) Do I want to be that girl? You know, the one who actually goes? Will I sit there, sipping punch, trying to dig through everyone's extra twenty pounds to see if I recognize them, and feeling as if I'm somehow "showing off" by attending, or that I have to pretend we have anything in common anymore, when we didn't have that much to start with?

2) Do I want to be that girl? You know, the one who skips it? Will I sit at home wondering who, of all the people I haven't seen in years, I'll have irrevocably missed? You know, the ones I really had things in common with, who were such a huge part of my formative years?

3) Do either of the first two answers change, given that several of the people I'd most like to see are on the "We're still missing these Scorps" list on the website?

4) Do any of the first three answers change, given that I suck at keeping in touch and am pretty comfortable with having lost touch with most of these people, because if I see them, everyone will want to exchange emails and I won't have a reason not to?

5) Will I be able to attend with a straight face, or will I see myself as an extra in Grosse Point Blank, and spend the whole night looking for that contract killer with really bad hair who gets stabbed with a pen?

6) God, who are these people?

-stonebridge

previous | next