Some things aren't true until you say them...

07.12.2008 - 11:50 a.m.

I haven't said this directly, and I suppose that's my fault, not his. But here's what I always seem to be thinking:

When I ask, in the morning, "So what are your plans for today," when my plans involve a full day of work on a Saturday for a stipend we need, or a Sunday behind a desk where I am treated like a not-very-intelligent monkey, the correct answer involves at least an hour of jobsearch-related activity for every hour spent not jobsearching.

If the jobsearching activities did not appear on the schedule until after I react with the Disappointed Wife Face, there should be twice as many of them. If there is some difficulty coming up with activities to fill that time, I am happy to help. Just say "I want to spend some time working on a job, but I'm not sure what to do."

Then it can be a conversation, instead of a nag-a-thon. God, I hate nagging.

-stonebridge

previous | next